Hampi and Khajuraho on G20 cultural track list

UNDER India’s G20 Presidency between December 2022 and November 2023, the government plans to hold five key meetings focusing on the “cultural track” in Khajuraho, Bhubaneswar, Hampi and Agra, The Indian Express has learned.

These cities were chosen mainly for well-known monuments and UNESCO World Heritage sites such as Taj Mahal and Agra Fort (UP), Hindu and Jain temples of Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh), from the sun of Konark about 65 km from Bhubaneswar (Odisha) and the sites of Hampi (Karnataka). Agra will host two of the five meetings, we learn.

The government announced last month that there would be 215 meetings in total, spread across 55 locations, covering most states during India’s G20 presidency. The main summit will be held in September at the International Exhibition Cum Convention Center Delhi at Pragati Maidan, which is currently under construction and will be ready by mid-2023.

For the culture component, a G20 secretariat has been set up within the Ministry of Culture, which will hire a professional agency “for research, documentation and coordination work for the culture component of the G20”, according to the files. reviewed by The Indian Express. . In addition to the five meetings, about 250 cultural events will be held on the sidelines of delegates throughout the duration of the G20 presidency, officials said.

Setting the cultural agenda for the meetings, the minutes state, “This Chairmanship also offers a fantastic opportunity for India to shape the global culture agenda through multiple work streams and areas of engagement. These include: a) the protection and restitution of cultural property; b) the advancement of traditional cultural practices for sustainable living; c) the promotion of cultural and creative industries to generate livelihoods; and (d) the preservation and dissemination of culture by taking advantage of technology.

Previously, Siliguri, Rann of Kutch, Kashmir and Goa had been finalized as destinations for various G20 meetings by the Ministry of Tourism. Officials said India’s presidency will be used as an opportunity to make the country a favorite tourist destination, with delegates to be taken on familiarization tours.

During the G20 Presidency starting on December 1 this year, India will invite Bangladesh, Egypt, Mauritius, the Netherlands, Nigeria, Oman, Singapore, Spain and the United Arab Emirates to as guest countries. The G20 is an intergovernmental forum made up of 19 countries – Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, South Korea, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Turkey, United Kingdom, the United States — and the European Union.

Source link

Previous Simple and Comforting Eggplant Recipes - Los Angeles Times
Next Monster Menu: The Scavenger's Cookbook lets you have your cake and eat it too